Some Stones Unturned

Knitting, Biking and Some Sober Second Thoughts

In autumn, a young woman’s fancy turns to thoughts of deliciousness

Oh, hey there fall vegetables…Yeah, it’s been a while. Listen, I just wanted to say that…I’m really sorry and I love you. I mean, it’s always been you. You know that, right? That dalliance with summer produce was nothing but a fling. I know what it looked like, but you have to believe me. The plump tomatoes. The juicy strawberries. The sweet sweet peaches just off the tree. They tempted me and I was weak; I admit it. But I swear they meant nothing to me. Not like you do.

From the moment I saw that zucchini sitting in the produce aisle, I realized what a fool I’d been. No crunchy salad could give me what a fall vegetable stirfry offers, what I need. I knew then what a terrible mistake I had made.

And then there were those stuffed sweet potatoes, their pale orange skin calling to me, tempting me.

The apples, of course. Oh, the apples. At first just eating them straight out of the bag was enough. But once I’d had one taste of their succulent flesh, my imagination became possessed by the possibilities. Pies, crisps, butters, ciders. I couldn’t stop thinking about them. Exquisite. A good McIntosh is so rare these days. I know some people say Macs are too mushy for baking, but don’t listen to them baby. They can have their little tarts if they want. I only have eyes for you.

And pumpkin. I didn’t forget about you. Oh pumpkin chai latte, I think I’ve missed you most of all.

And this is only the beginning for us, I promise. There’s so much more I want to share with you. Let’s build a future together. Let’s indulge in hearty chilis, spaghetti squash, stews with meaty morsels and soups with spices. And long after the leaves have fallen down, we’ll keep that honeymoon feeling alive by mixing it up: you know how that kinky fantasy you have about squash on pizza drives me wild.

I know in the past I might have been a bit critical of your flaws, but I’ve changed. Things will be different this time. I’m not perfect either, so let’s embrace each other’s little quirks and foibles. I mean, you can deep fry turnip, right? Not that I’m asking you to change in any way or anything. Those are the details that make you special. For better or for worse. Darling, say you forgive me and I swear I’ll never leave you again…

At least not until clementine season.

Cross-posted from my tumblr, where much of the original recipe inspiration came from. I’ve been non-bloggy for a bit: first out and about in the summer weather and then I got a little carried away on the fall cooking. I have lots of started posts, but few finished. Thinking of doing NaNoWriMo, so not sure if I will be posting more, in procrastination, or less because busy.

Single Post Navigation

Please feel free to leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

