Some Stones Unturned

Knitting, Biking and Some Sober Second Thoughts

It’s Cold Out There Campers

I went to the movies today.  It’s about a three block walk from my building.  On the way there, I saw a kid with his toque pulled all the way down over his eyes so he couldn’t see, complaining that it was cold and his Mom was dragging him by the arm and telling him that if he just walked faster they would be warm sooner.

Winter

Noooooooo!

Yes, winter has finally decided to show up and I’m just as offended by it this year as I was last year.  I consider winter an uninvited guest at the best of times, but this year it’s like just last week he was protesting “No, it’s fine.  I think I’m going to stay with cousin John out East, so I won’t be imposing on you this year.  Really.”  And yet this week he unexpectedly knocks on the door and doesn’t even look ashamed or sheepish that he never bothered to call ahead or anything.  Last weekend it neared double digits and I went for a run outside.  This weekend it is currently -15°C, feels like -21°C with the wind chill, and venturing outside for a leisurely stand makes my lungs hurt.

It is hardly-anyone’s-on-the-street weather.

It is snotsicle weather.

It is I-don’t-have-any-fresh-vegetables-but-I-don’t-want-to-get-bundled-up-and-walk-the-block-and-a-half-to-the-fruit-stand-so-I-will-just-have-toast-for-dinner-and-consider-that-can-of-artichokes-that’s-been-sitting-on-my-shelf-for-six-months weather.

It. Is. Cold.

When will I learn?  When will I suck it up and stop complaining?  Apparently not this year.  Sorry about that.

Single Post Navigation

Please feel free to leave a comment

