Some Stones Unturned

Knitting, Biking and Some Sober Second Thoughts

Skew socks: What was I thinking?

I’ve gone astray askew. I’m so weak. I started a new pair of socks even though I’m not even done the Rock Island shawl border.

I started them because I needed something to photoshop into the apocalypse picture. I couldn’t use the things I already had on the needles because they weren’t bright enough. I wanted a smoking crater with bright pink yarn being knit in front of it. I had bright pink yarn lying around. So I cast on. But I didn’t want to look like I had just cast on so I could take the picture (even though that is totally what I was doing). So I decided to start a pair of socks and I have a little bit of an obsession with this Skew pattern.

I’ve knit it before and it’s addictive. You think you’ll just cast on and then you figure that the first part of the toe is not very long, so you’ll just finish that section. And you finish that and decide that the mid-toe’s not very long either so you’ll just finish that section and once you get to the foot, well, that’s pretty straightforward repeats and before you know it, you’re halfway up the foot. More than that because it’s knit on the diagonal, so the far part of the foot is nearly to the start of the heel gusset. You only have to knit a couple of inches straight. And that was how I ended up with half a sock knitted that looked like this.  Are you ready?  No, you can’t possibly be.

.

.

.

Skew socks

There is no ready.

What was I thinking?

  1. Firstly, let’s just say it: I should really be focussing on the shawl. Yes, I need something simpler to knit when I’m on the phone or don’t have the attention for the pattern, but I already have a felted bag project I’m working on. I am still working on the shawl, but I can feel the socks calling.
  2. This colour. I can’t…I think it’s even slightly muted in this photo. I bought this yarn because I wanted something bright. I am normally a pretty straightforward blue and grey kinda girl, but I sometimes like to have a little fun with the socks because, well, who’s going to know? So I bought this yarn thinking it would lead to some madcap fun (assuming a knitter’s definition of “fun” here). I started a pair of cuff down socks with it previously, but they weren’t working. I thought that maybe it was just the combination of the pattern, which was ripply, with the Jacquard, which was bright and patterned, but it’s pretty clearly the yarn itself. It’s just too much even in simple diagonal stripes.
  3. I’m actually getting slightly larger gauge than normal and I think they might be a bit big.

Is any of this stopping me? No it is not. I am just keepin’ on keepin’ on. Rationalizations:

  1. I’m still working on the shawl.  Really, I am.  Just slower. I knew I was going to knit Skew again at some point and why not now?
  2. The colour of the yarn isn’t going to change. Given that, socks are clearly the way to go with it. I suppose I could try to knit some colourwork in combination with a plainer yarn to dilute it down or something, but I’m not sure that would help. Worst case scenario, they will make a glorious pair of springtime/Easter socks, all yellow and pink and periwinkle.
  3. They’ll fit. I can totally make them fit. I’ll make the foot a little short to compensate for the extra width and then do extra decreases on the gusset to make the leg tighter. It’ll be fine; have I ever been wrong before (hint: yes)?
Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Skew socks: What was I thinking?

  1. I’ve been looking at Skew. . . now I’ll really have to try it!

  2. I really love it. I am not a super-experienced knitter, but I was really fascinated by the way the heel came together. Hope you love it too.

  3. You crack me up. You might have to write a sci-fi novel or two with knitters knitting interesting things when you finish this PHD.

  4. Thanks. Love your blog as well. I have added knitting adorably tiny chickens to the list of things I must do.
    After I wrote this, I saw a post about knitting in the (dystopian) movie Demolition Man: http://bohoknits.blogspot.com/2011/01/stallone-unwinds.html. I’m not the only one who has noticed the connection :).

  5. Pingback: Skew Fast, Skew Furious « Some Stones Unturned

  6. Pingback: $5 in Paris: La croisière s’amuse « Some Stones Unturned

  7. Pingback: FO Friday: Skew Socks « Some Stones Unturned

Please feel free to leave a comment

