Some Stones Unturned

Knitting, Biking and Some Sober Second Thoughts

5 Suggestions for Roasted Broccoli

Roasted broccoli

Okay, so I lied about no more food pictures

I’m worried that I might have some sort of vitamin deficiency. I have had roasted broccoli 5 of the last 5 days (that is 2.5 full heads of broccoli). I actually stopped at the grocery store on the way home last night just to buy another head of broccoli I wanted it so bad.

Btw, if you have been steaming or boiling or microwaving your broccoli, you have been wasting your life, jsyk, fyi. Roast it. Roast it and don’t ever look back.

These are the days I’m glad I’m single because if I were sharing dinners with someone and had to try to convince them that we should have roasted broccoli every day, I feel like that might not go over so well. Actually, maybe that’s more explanation than fortunate coincidence?

Anyway, if you are new to the world of roast broccoli, I would like to share with you some of my accumulated knowledge (lucky you):

  1. Basically every ingredient in the above recipe is optional except the olive oil. Often I go with just olive oil and lemon juice or just oil and parmesan (and it is the store-bought powdery kind, but shhhh don’t tell). Actually maybe the olive oil is optional. I’ve never tried it without. I imagine it would be pretty hard to get off the pan.
  2. Parmesan, mozzarella or cheddar work for cheese options. Possibly others. I haven’t gotten too adventurous there yet. Ooooh, I am contemplating Monterey Jack and thinking yes. Perhaps time for another broccoli/cheese grocery store run.
  3. I have never tried the pine nuts in this, but I have occasionally smushed up some bran flakes in the last step as a substitute. It sounds weird, I know, but they don’t really taste like bran. They just add some extra crunch.
  4. If, as I hear occasionally happens, you find you want more than just broccoli for dinner, perhaps even another food group, there are the usual options of rice or pasta, but I’ve become fond of couscous. I was ignorant until a year or so ago when my sister opened my eyes. Here is how it works: you buy a box at the grocery store; bring the correct amount of water to a boil and dump the couscous in; take it off the burner and wait five minutes. Now you have couscous! So ridiculously simple.
  5. If you too are single, go ahead and roast the whole head of broccoli anyway (uh, that is to say, the sliced up florets from an entire head. Don’t just shove the thing in your oven whole). That plus a cup of couscous, cooked up, gives you dinner and 2-3 lunches for the week.

And that ends this week’s installment in my Broccoli Deliciousness Awareness campaign. Thanks for your time.

Single Post Navigation

Please feel free to leave a comment

