Some Stones Unturned

Knitting, Biking and Some Sober Second Thoughts

Florida Trip: Inedible Things

So, other than eating, there were lots of enjoyable things on my recent trip to Florida (Southern bit, near the Everglades).

As I kind of alluded to, the flight was terrible. The people beside me were really restless and demanding and I felt sort of bad for the flight attendants. And when we landed, I picked up my jacket and personal item from where they were “safely stowed under the seat in front of me” to find the jacket soaked with juice, presumably dropped by the kid in front of me. At least I hope it was just juice (the two kids in front of me were otherwise really well-behaved during the flight). Fortunately it mostly hit my jacket, which I didn’t really have a lot of need for in Florida, and missed electronics, so not so bad. And, as Louis CK says, I got on a plane and flew through the air, incredibly, like a bird, partaking in the miracle of flight.

And when I landed it was tanning climate and I got a fresh salad and there was lots of lovely scenery.

Naples Pier

Naples Pier

bird sanctuary

Bird Sanctuary

gator

The thing that looks like a log on the far bank is one of two alligators who lives near the 10th tee behind the place my parents were staying.

One day we heard two of the landscapers out back and we thought they were chatting about the alligator across the way. Then suddenly there was a splash from much closer and one worker said to the other “Oh good. He finally moved. I thought I was going to have to poke him.” Turned out the other, bigger alligator had been right next to them on our side of the river and they had been debating what to do about him. Now, I am a big fan of the Doctor Who quote “Something doesn’t make sense here; let’s go poke it with a stick.” I think scientists should adopt it as their motto. But I would exclude alligators from the possible list of “it”s. Maybe this is one of those cultural things where people who live near alligators all the time consider it no big deal, but I don’t think it’s a good idea to poke them with things. Anyway…

My parents have become big birdwatchers since retiring. I don’t really have the patience for it, but I tried to adapt to a more vacation-y pace of life, with the result that I have more bird photos than you can shake a stick at. I would like to note my self-restraint in not posting the 20 pictures I took of trees where I’m sure there was a woodpecker, but I can’t see a thing in the photos now.

pelican

Pelican coming in for a landing.

hawk

hawk

egret

Egret

birds in the Everglades

I don't even know.

Anhinga

Anhinga drying itself

We did a WaveRunner tour, which was great fun:

WaveRunners

My sister drove, which is probably a good plan given that I rarely drive a car.

Waverunner tour

Wheee.

There was lots to see. I’m not sure what’s wrong with dolphins. If I could swim like that and go anywhere in the Gulf, I’m not sure I would choose to hang out with a group of tourists on loud boat things, but I’m glad these dolphins did.

Dolphins

One of many dolphin sightings

Then they took us to a beach to go shelling:

shells from Florida

Results of various shelling excursions.

And that’s basically it. I did get a bit of a bike ride in (on a single speed townie. Thank goodness it was so flat everywhere) and there was a trip out to Sanibel Island and a run-in with a tortoise. My sister is basically the pied piper of turtles and tortoises so this is unsurprising.

tortoise

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Florida Trip: Inedible Things

  1. Woah! That is a massive haul of shells. I’ve never been able to find more than a couple kind of broken ones at the beaches I ‘ve visited, obviously I’m not visiting the right beaches.

  2. theelectriccane on said:

    I wouldn’t poke an alligator either….

Please feel free to leave a comment

