Some Stones Unturned

Knitting, Biking and Some Sober Second Thoughts

Loose Ends: Coastal Hoodie, Aidez and Food

A lot of short things.

I have finished the knitting on Coastal Hoodie.

Image

Before I did the button band.  Love the Borrjas (pinky-purple) colourway.

It is looking pretty sweet.  I ended up mixing yarns because I couldn’t find other available colours of Malabrigo Arroyo that I liked.  I went with Araucania Ranco and somehow it’s not machine-washable, which you would think would have been one of the things I checked when matching it up, but I guess I was so focused on finding a similar weight and that was challenging because the Malabrigo is labelled as sport but is closer to a fingering.  Checking the comments for Araucania, that’s also the case with that yarn.  Why didn’t I just check the fingering weight section for something appropriate and machine washable?  I can’t recall.  So anyway, I do think the Araucania looks a bit shabbier and it will prevent me from machine washing, but maybe after a hand wash and blocking it will look okay (the biggest issue is on the sleeves where I tried to duplicate stitch to hide the jogs but I’m not sure how successful I was.  Anyway, I think I left my main set of sewing needles at my parents’ and my wool needles are too big to fit through the holes of the buttons I picked while the eyes on my remaining few are too small to fit wool through, so that project is just awaiting my purchasing new sewing needles to finish and then I will show it off.

In the meantime, I have cast on for Aidez with some Knit Picks Cadena.

Image

Bulky is a nice change from the sport (or really fingering) weight of Coastal Hoodie. It feels like I worked on Coastal for ages. Five minutes on this and I’m almost done the hem on the back.

A friend of mine was kind enough to give me a gift certificate for my birthday and I got the Boxing Week deal on luxury yarn, but wasn’t quite quick enough to get the free Canadian shipping (didn’t order enough stuff anyway).  But apparently I am incapable of using the gift card system.  Word of warning: if you order more than is on a gift card there, I guess you should not enter both gift card info and the credit card to cover the difference at the checkout or else it will just put the full amount on your credit card and you will still be left with your gift card amount.  So now I have to order more things from KnitPicks.  It is a tough life.  No more yarn though.  I’ve lost control (had tons leftover on Coastal Hoodie and not sure what I will do with it.  Plus got some from my sister for my birthday) and I may be moving within the next year.  It probably says something about my priorities that a move will be a major life change, moving jobs and likely changing countries and yet topmost in my mind about it is how much yarn I will be able to knit up or send to a good home before that time comes.  Between that and having the Knit Picks credit to use, I could not have more non-problems.  So I will order books and maybe some project bags I think.

I have also been cooking up a storm.  I finally bought Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a Day, which…was not what I expected.  I am planning to write a longer review, but I have several friends who raved about this method and so I had the apparently naive impression that you made some dough for the refrigerator and then, when you want bread, you pull some out, throw it in the oven and bake it up for say 20 or 30 minutes.  Needless to say, it’s not quite this simple.  I have all kinds of problems with the basic recipe, but upon further research, it seems that many of them are addressed on the FAQs on their website.  I sort of feel like some of these things could be added to the ebook, which is the format I bought it in and one of the advantages of ebooks should be the ease of clarifying info from earlier publication runs.  Anyway, I am still experimenting with things and they have been going a little better.  I won’t be panning the book or anything as it does make quite good bread…eventually.  But given the number of people I know who love it and the rave reviews it gets online, I was surprised how much tweaking I had to do to make things work for me.

Image

Mediocre first attempt

Tonight I made risotto, which I haven’t done in ages and I don’t know why because it’s relatively simple and amazing.  I slightly oversalted it because I forgot to account for the fact  that I would be adding prosciutto at the end, but otherwise it was a dream.  I also timed it perfectly so that my parents phoned just as I was adding the wine, which meant that I could chat with them while doing the stock add-and-stirs.  Turns out that talking on the phone is the perfect co-activity to do with risotto-stirring.

Image

Spinach, mushroom and prosciutto risotto

Please ignore the stains on my stovetop.  And is that a slightly more successful artisan baking attempt in the background?  Stay tuned.  Same bread time; same bread channel.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Loose Ends: Coastal Hoodie, Aidez and Food

  1. Pingback: FO Friday: Aidez « Some Stones Unturned

Please feel free to leave a comment

